B

Below-Average Risk (35–42%)

Industry occupation-mix grade — shared by every Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control employer tracked

BLS + SEC data Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control Industry AI-risk grade B

Fortive Corp

Workforce AI-exposure profile for Fortive Corp: industry grade B (37.6/100), plus SEC headcount and BLS occupation mix.

FTV Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control SIC 3823
Industry AI Displacement Exposure
37.6/100 B

Weighted average O*NET AI exposure score for this industry's occupation mix

Workforce Size
N/A
Not reported in XBRL filings
Industry Classification
Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control
SIC Code: 3823
NAICS Sector: 33
The verdict

Fortive Corp's workforce carries a grade B AI-risk profile (37.6% weighted exposure), 4.3 points below the 41.9% average across 1,965 tracked employers. That is broadly typical of the industries tracked here; it describes the industry, not this company's own staffing.

37.6%
AI exposure
B
Risk grade
33
NAICS sector the grade comes from

Where Fortive Corp sits among tracked employers

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across the 1,965 public employers tracked. The marker is Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control's value, which every employer we track in that sector shares — it is not a measurement of Fortive Corp specifically.

Where Fortive Corp's industry AI exposure sits

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across tracked public employers

37.6% Lower than most lower than 60% of 1,965 employers

Employers, banded by industry AI-exposure mix

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more employers. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source O*NET / PlainWorkforce employer industry mix · 2026-05-15

AI Displacement Risk Analysis

Companies in Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control sit below the typical industry AI-exposure band. Most roles still need dexterity, interpersonal skill, or on-site presence that current AI systems struggle with.

A
B
C
D
F

Industry exposure standing

Signature: 37.6/100 (grade B) · industry AI-exposure score (corpus extremity among disclosed peers)

As of May 2026, Fortive Corp sits near the middle on both disclosed headcount and three-year change. Industry grade B (37.6/100) is shared by every tracked employer in Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control. As of May 2026, Fortive Corp (FTV) has no XBRL headcount on file. Industry grade B (37.6/100) from Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control is the primary measurable signal here.

SIC 3823 · NAICS 33 · 6 estimated roles; largest share Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic · sources SEC EDGAR · O*NET 30.0 · BLS industry-occupation distributions.

Estimated Workforce Occupation Mix (Industry Average)

Fortive Corp does not publish its own occupation breakdown, so this reflects the typical occupation mix for other employers in Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control (BLS industry-occupation employment distributions), not company-specific data. AI exposure scores from O*NET Database 30.0.

Occupation Est. Workforce Share AI Exposure
Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic
SOC 51-9195
40%
34%
Civil engineering technologists and technicians
SOC 17-3022
18%
39%
Security and fire alarm systems installers
SOC 49-2098
15%
26%
Shipping, receiving, and inventory clerks
SOC 43-5071
10%
60%
Funeral home managers
SOC 11-9171
9%
38%
Gas compressor and gas pumping station operators
SOC 53-7071
8%
38%

Methodology and scoring detail live on our how we score AI exposure page; occupation hubs sit under Browse all occupations.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the AI risk grade for Fortive Corp's industry?

Fortive Corp (FTV) maps to Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control with a mid-pack industry AI grade B (37.6/100). That score is identical for every tracked employer in the sector. Companies in Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control sit below the typical industry AI-exposure band. Most roles still need dexterity, interpersonal skill, or on-site presence that current AI systems struggle with.

How is the AI risk score calculated?

The score uses the company's primary industry (SIC 3823: Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control), mapped to BLS occupational employment shares. Each occupation gets an O*NET task-level AI exposure weight; the industry mix is the weighted average. 0 = no exposure; 100 = maximum.

Which occupations at Fortive Corp face the most AI risk?

Largest estimated shares in the Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control mix: Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic (34% AI exposure); Civil engineering technologists and technicians (39% AI exposure); Security and fire alarm systems installers (26% AI exposure). Treat these as industry-typical roles, not Fortive Corp's published org chart.

How many employees does Fortive Corp have?

Fortive Corp does not disclose employee count in recent XBRL filings. Check the latest 10-K or annual report for a current figure.

Has Fortive Corp had layoffs?

WARN Act layoff notices for Fortive Corp are published by state labor agencies and the U.S. Department of Labor when a covered mass layoff hits the 100-worker threshold. Many quieter workforce changes never appear in WARN.

What industry is Fortive Corp in?

Fortive Corp is classified under SIC 3823 (Industrial Instruments For Measurement, Display, and Control), mapping to NAICS sector 33. That classification selects the BLS occupation mix behind the AI exposure grade.

What to do with this

Use Fortive Corp's risk profile above to plan next steps, not just react to the grade.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices; this is not financial advice.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices. Data sources: SEC EDGAR (company SIC codes) · O*NET Database 30.0 (AI exposure scores) · BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034. This is not financial advice.

Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details. Retrieved and formatted by PlainWorkforce