C

Moderate AI Risk (43–48%)

Industry occupation-mix grade — shared by every Wholesale-Groceries, General Line employer tracked

BLS + SEC data Wholesale-Groceries, General Line Industry AI-risk grade C

Performance Food Group Co

Workforce AI-exposure profile for Performance Food Group Co: industry grade C (45.5/100), plus SEC headcount and BLS occupation mix.

PFGC Wholesale-Groceries, General Line SIC 5141
Industry AI Displacement Exposure
45.5/100 C

Weighted average O*NET AI exposure score for this industry's occupation mix

Workforce Size
N/A
Not reported in XBRL filings
Industry Classification
Wholesale-Groceries, General Line
SIC Code: 5141
NAICS Sector: 42
The verdict

Performance Food Group Co's workforce carries a grade C AI-risk profile (45.5% weighted exposure), 3.6 points above the 41.9% average across 1,965 tracked employers. That is broadly typical of the industries tracked here; it describes the industry, not this company's own staffing.

45.5%
AI exposure
C
Risk grade
42
NAICS sector the grade comes from

Where Performance Food Group Co sits among tracked employers

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across the 1,965 public employers tracked. The marker is Wholesale-Groceries, General Line's value, which every employer we track in that sector shares — it is not a measurement of Performance Food Group Co specifically.

Where Performance Food Group Co's industry AI exposure sits

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across tracked public employers

45.5% Around the middle lower than 29% of 1,965 employers

Employers, banded by industry AI-exposure mix

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more employers. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source O*NET / PlainWorkforce employer industry mix · 2026-05-15

AI Displacement Risk Analysis

Companies in Wholesale-Groceries, General Line sit in a mid industry AI-exposure band. Some roles will be augmented, while core work still needs judgment, creativity, or complex problem-solving.

A
B
C
D
F

Industry exposure standing

Signature: 45.5/100 (grade C) · industry AI-exposure score (corpus extremity among disclosed peers)

As of May 2026, Performance Food Group Co sits near the middle on both disclosed headcount and three-year change. Industry grade C (45.5/100) is shared by every tracked employer in Wholesale-Groceries, General Line. As of May 2026, Performance Food Group Co (PFGC) has no XBRL headcount on file. Industry grade C (45.5/100) from Wholesale-Groceries, General Line is the primary measurable signal here.

SIC 5141 · NAICS 42 · 5 estimated roles; largest share First-line supervisors of retail sales workers · sources SEC EDGAR · O*NET 30.0 · BLS industry-occupation distributions.

Estimated Workforce Occupation Mix (Industry Average)

Performance Food Group Co does not publish its own occupation breakdown, so this reflects the typical occupation mix for other employers in Wholesale-Groceries, General Line (BLS industry-occupation employment distributions), not company-specific data. AI exposure scores from O*NET Database 30.0.

Occupation Est. Workforce Share AI Exposure
First-line supervisors of retail sales workers
SOC 41-1011
35%
45%
Shipping, receiving, and inventory clerks
SOC 43-5071
28%
60%
Gas compressor and gas pumping station operators
SOC 53-7071
15%
38%
Funeral home managers
SOC 11-9171
12%
38%
Security and fire alarm systems installers
SOC 49-2098
10%
26%

For task-level context on high-exposure mixes, see how AI affects different job types.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the AI risk grade for Performance Food Group Co's industry?

Performance Food Group Co (PFGC) maps to Wholesale-Groceries, General Line, whose occupation mix is in the upper third of industry AI exposure here (grade C, 45.5/100). Every tracked employer in that sector shares the same grade - it describes the industry mix, not Performance Food Group Co's own roster. Companies in Wholesale-Groceries, General Line sit in a mid industry AI-exposure band. Some roles will be augmented, while core work still needs judgment, creativity, or complex problem-solving.

How is the AI risk score calculated?

The score uses the company's primary industry (SIC 5141: Wholesale-Groceries, General Line), mapped to BLS occupational employment shares. Each occupation gets an O*NET task-level AI exposure weight; the industry mix is the weighted average. 0 = no exposure; 100 = maximum.

Which occupations at Performance Food Group Co face the most AI risk?

Largest estimated shares in the Wholesale-Groceries, General Line mix: First-line supervisors of retail sales workers (45% AI exposure); Shipping, receiving, and inventory clerks (60% AI exposure); Gas compressor and gas pumping station operators (38% AI exposure). Treat these as industry-typical roles, not Performance Food Group Co's published org chart.

How many employees does Performance Food Group Co have?

Performance Food Group Co does not disclose employee count in recent XBRL filings. Check the latest 10-K or annual report for a current figure.

Has Performance Food Group Co had layoffs?

WARN Act layoff notices for Performance Food Group Co are published by state labor agencies and the U.S. Department of Labor when a covered mass layoff hits the 100-worker threshold. Many quieter workforce changes never appear in WARN.

What industry is Performance Food Group Co in?

Performance Food Group Co is classified under SIC 5141 (Wholesale-Groceries, General Line), mapping to NAICS sector 42. That classification selects the BLS occupation mix behind the AI exposure grade.

What to do with this

Use Performance Food Group Co's risk profile above to plan next steps, not just react to the grade.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices; this is not financial advice.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices. Data sources: SEC EDGAR (company SIC codes) · O*NET Database 30.0 (AI exposure scores) · BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034. This is not financial advice.

Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details. Retrieved and formatted by PlainWorkforce