B

Below-Average Risk (35–42%)

Industry occupation-mix grade — shared by every Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware employer tracked

BLS + SEC data Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware Industry AI-risk grade B

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.

Workforce AI-exposure profile for Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.: industry grade B (37.6/100), plus SEC headcount and BLS occupation mix.

SWK Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware SIC 3420
Industry AI Displacement Exposure
37.6/100 B

Weighted average O*NET AI exposure score for this industry's occupation mix

Workforce Size
N/A
Not reported in XBRL filings
Industry Classification
Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware
SIC Code: 3420
NAICS Sector: 33
The verdict

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.'s workforce carries a grade B AI-risk profile (37.6% weighted exposure), 4.3 points below the 41.9% average across 1,965 tracked employers. That is broadly typical of the industries tracked here; it describes the industry, not this company's own staffing.

37.6%
AI exposure
B
Risk grade
33
NAICS sector the grade comes from

Where Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. sits among tracked employers

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across the 1,965 public employers tracked. The marker is Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware's value, which every employer we track in that sector shares — it is not a measurement of Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. specifically.

Where Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.'s industry AI exposure sits

Industry occupation-mix AI exposure across tracked public employers

37.6% Lower than most lower than 60% of 1,965 employers

Employers, banded by industry AI-exposure mix

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more employers. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source O*NET / PlainWorkforce employer industry mix · 2026-05-15

AI Displacement Risk Analysis

Companies in Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware sit below the typical industry AI-exposure band. Most roles still need dexterity, interpersonal skill, or on-site presence that current AI systems struggle with.

A
B
C
D
F

Industry exposure standing

Signature: 37.6/100 (grade B) · industry AI-exposure score (corpus extremity among disclosed peers)

As of May 2026, Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. sits near the middle on both disclosed headcount and three-year change. Industry grade B (37.6/100) is shared by every tracked employer in Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware. As of May 2026, Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. (SWK) has no XBRL headcount on file. Industry grade B (37.6/100) from Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware is the primary measurable signal here.

SIC 3420 · NAICS 33 · 6 estimated roles; largest share Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic · sources SEC EDGAR · O*NET 30.0 · BLS industry-occupation distributions.

Estimated Workforce Occupation Mix (Industry Average)

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. does not publish its own occupation breakdown, so this reflects the typical occupation mix for other employers in Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware (BLS industry-occupation employment distributions), not company-specific data. AI exposure scores from O*NET Database 30.0.

Occupation Est. Workforce Share AI Exposure
Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic
SOC 51-9195
40%
34%
Civil engineering technologists and technicians
SOC 17-3022
18%
39%
Security and fire alarm systems installers
SOC 49-2098
15%
26%
Shipping, receiving, and inventory clerks
SOC 43-5071
10%
60%
Funeral home managers
SOC 11-9171
9%
38%
Gas compressor and gas pumping station operators
SOC 53-7071
8%
38%

Methodology and scoring detail live on our how we score AI exposure page; occupation hubs sit under Browse all occupations.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the AI risk grade for Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.'s industry?

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. (SWK) maps to Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware with a mid-pack industry AI grade B (37.6/100). That score is identical for every tracked employer in the sector. Companies in Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware sit below the typical industry AI-exposure band. Most roles still need dexterity, interpersonal skill, or on-site presence that current AI systems struggle with.

How is the AI risk score calculated?

The score uses the company's primary industry (SIC 3420: Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware), mapped to BLS occupational employment shares. Each occupation gets an O*NET task-level AI exposure weight; the industry mix is the weighted average. 0 = no exposure; 100 = maximum.

Which occupations at Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. face the most AI risk?

Largest estimated shares in the Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware mix: Molders, shapers, and casters, except metal and plastic (34% AI exposure); Civil engineering technologists and technicians (39% AI exposure); Security and fire alarm systems installers (26% AI exposure). Treat these as industry-typical roles, not Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.'s published org chart.

How many employees does Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. have?

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. does not disclose employee count in recent XBRL filings. Check the latest 10-K or annual report for a current figure.

Has Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. had layoffs?

WARN Act layoff notices for Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. are published by state labor agencies and the U.S. Department of Labor when a covered mass layoff hits the 100-worker threshold. Many quieter workforce changes never appear in WARN.

What industry is Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. in?

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. is classified under SIC 3420 (Cutlery, Handtools & General Hardware), mapping to NAICS sector 33. That classification selects the BLS occupation mix behind the AI exposure grade.

What to do with this

Use Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.'s risk profile above to plan next steps, not just react to the grade.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices; this is not financial advice.

AI risk scores are estimates based on industry-level occupation distributions and may not reflect individual employer hiring practices. Data sources: SEC EDGAR (company SIC codes) · O*NET Database 30.0 (AI exposure scores) · BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034. This is not financial advice.

Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details. Retrieved and formatted by PlainWorkforce